Toby Keith’s “I Love This Bar and Grill”

Not being a country music fan, I was still drawn to see Toby Keith’s “I Love This Bar and Grill” in Auburn Hills. I don’t know why, but it just seemed like a place that I wanted to visit. Since I was going to be in Pontiac to visit the Walter P. Chrysler museum and then hike at Highlands State Recreation Area, a visit to the experience known as Great Lakes Crossing was doable.

Toby Keith's bar

Toby Keith's bar

First off, Toby Keith’s is a huge place, capable of seating hundreds. The guitar-shaped bar (notice the red, white, and blue striped guitar shape above the bar) could seat dozens by itself. Of course, there was country music coming through speakers. The waitresses were dressed in cut-off shorts, which I didn’t object to. But just my luck, I had a waiter. Luckily, he was NOT wearing cut-offs.

Keith's

Toby Keith's, Auburn Hills

Onto the food. Being a nacho fiend, I had the nachos. Atop red, white, and blue chips (nice touch) were loads of cheese and spicy pulled pork. The pork was juicy, so much so that most of the chips were soggy. The nachos had not been left in the oven long enough, so not all the cheese had melted. A handful of beans and a dusting of sliced spicy peppers rounded out the meal, and overall, they were good, ranking about average on my list. I had the half-order, and that was easily enough to fill me up.
Nachos at Toby Keith's

Nachos at Toby Keith's

Though I enjoyed the nachos, I was drawn to the fried bologna sandwich. Pair that with a Pabst Blue Ribbon and you have the making of one tasty lunch. But that is for my next visit.

Leave a Reply

