Houlihan’s

I like Houlihan’s. It is a casual restaurant with decent prices and really good food. And, they have Blue Moon on tap, and that’s a good thing.

Andrea and I ate dinner there Wednesday night. It started poorly, our table being surrounded with babies and small children, not a welcome sight when going out to dinner. We usually leave our child at home when we go out to eat, though she has been doing much better in restaurants, doing a great job tolerating a two-hour stay at Sawyer’s Gourmet Pancake House, a gripe for another time.

Coupon in hand (sign up for their e-mail list – you can get good deals like our buy an entrée, get a free salad and dessert), I started with the chopped salad for the sole reason that it had bacon. The salad was made with shredded lettuce so it kept falling off my fork, but it tasted fine, and at least I didn’t have chopsticks.

For my entrée, I had the chicken fingers platter. The chicken had been left in the fryer a tad long, but it still tasted good. The platter came with fries and peanut coleslaw, both of which were fine. Andrea’s breaded shrimp were good as well.

Dessert brings me back to the fryer issues. I had the doughnut flight, several doughnut holes with a dusting of powdered sugar and served with chocolate and white chocolate sauces. The doughnuts were a bit too well done. Good, but not as good as they have been in the past, and my experience probably suffered because I was mentally comparing them to the beignets I had at Grand Lux Café in Chicago a month ago.

I’ve had better meals at Houlihan’s – the chipotle chicken nachos and the buffalo blue salad, for example – but it was still a good night out. But next time, maybe we’ll sit in the baby-less bar.

Leave a Reply

