A burger at GP Sports in Grand Rapids

After a 4.5 mile run around Reeds Lake in East Grand Rapids, I wanted to undo a little of the good work I had done, so I went into downtown Grand Rapids for dinner at GP Sports in the Amway Grand. I also wanted to watch Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals, even though Detroit wasn’t in it.

My first choice in sports bars was Uccello’s on East Beltline, but when I noticed that the day’s special was “kids eat free”, so I decided to rethink my plans and head somewhere else, where kids would not be eating free that night.

GP Sports is broken into two sections, the upper area, which is by the kitchen, and the lower area, by the bar. Each was equally fine, but I sat in the upper area so I could see the giant TVs and watch Boston and Vancouver skate to a 0-0 time at the end of the first period.

GP Sports, Grand Rapids

GP Sports

The nachos looked decent, but I decided to go with the Lakers burger with fries and a Corona, the latter of which were on special that night (Wednesday). The burger was topped with olives, cheese, and red pepper mayonnaise .  It tasted fine, nothing to rave about, and the fries were equally alright.

Oliver burger at GP Sports

Oliver burger at GP Sports

As hotel restaurants go, it wasn’t outrageously price, maybe a dollar more than you’d pay somewhere else. The night I was there, the place was fairly empty – there were no special events at the hotel. If you are in the mood to sit outside, there is also a patio on Louis Campau Street that probably wouldn’t be too noisy.

On the way I out, I passed by the door to The 1913 Room, now departed in favor of a Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse, coming later this year. So sad – my meal at The 1913 Room was among the best I’ve had.

The 1913 Room

The 1913 Room

Leave a Reply

