Let’s hear it for the hot dogs at Hot Doug’s

What would you say if I told you I dropped almost $30 for three hot dogs, an order of fries, and a Coke? And that I would absolutely do it again? Crazy, huh? And there was a line of people out the door for these dogs.

Hot Doug's

Hot Doug's

That would be Hot Doug’s in Chicago. Andrea and I had first heard about them on a Food Network or Travel Channel show, and the foie gras sounded intriguing, along with a bunch of other items.

Not in the mood for anything resembling a normal hot dog, we went for three unusual choices. First, the “Foie Gras and Sauternes Duck Sausage with Truffle Aioli, Foie Gras Mousse and Fleur de Sel”.  I had to have this one, since it was one of the reasons we made the trip beyond downtown Chicago. Once I heard foie gras on, basically, a hot dog, I knew Hot Doug’s was my kind of place. It was my first experience with foie gras, and I still can’t really describe it, other than to say it was amazingly tender, almost like butter. This was both Andrea and my favorite sausage, though it was a hard choice.

Hot Doug's hot dogs

Hot Doug's hot dogs

Item number 2 was the Game of the Week. Though it changes weekly (duh), our Game was yak sausage with smoked gouda cheese. Never had yak, either, and I didn’t know what to expect, but I’m a yak fan now. Thankfully, the yak was shaved before the sausage was ground up.

Game of the Week

Game of the Week

One final “hot dog” was “Smoked Portuguese Linguica with Saffron Rouille and Aged Iberico Cheese “. There are a lot of things in that sentence of which I’m completely clueless, but they were all amazing together. Mr. Doug is a hot dog genius.

There was ketchup on the table. I would guess it was for the fries, but for me, to put ketchup on the amazing duck fat fries would be a horrible injustice. Served only on Friday and Saturday, these fries were amazing. Don’t leave without trying them. Unless you’re not there on one of the days they’re not served – otherwise, that would be a very long wait.

Inside Hot Doug's

Inside Hot Doug's

Go to Hot Doug’s. Really.

One thought on “Let’s hear it for the hot dogs at Hot Doug’s

  1. Pingback: B Spot, somewhere west of Cleveland | Michigan Foodies

Leave a Reply

