Margherita pizza at Ottawa Tavern, Grand Rapids

Have you heard the expression “If you leave hungry, it’s your own fault”?  Well, I left hungry, and it wasn’t exactly my fault.

But maybe it was. I ordered the pizza at Ottawa Tavern at Pearl and Ottawa in Grand Rapids. It wasn’t in the “Appetizer” section, so I thought that meant a small pizza, but one that would be a meal, not a snack. No such luck. There was only one size, so it wasn’t “I should have gotten the large’, it was “I should have bought two”. Live and learn.

I ordered the Margherita pizza, which was topped with mozzarella, tomatoes, and basil. It had a nice flavor, and the chewy crust was especially good. So I can’t complain about the taste, but I can – and have – complained about the size. I saw a burger passed to someone else, and that looked like a normal sized item, so perhaps only the pizzas are mini-sized.

Pizza at Ottaw Tavern

Ottawa Tavern seemed like a place people caught up over drinks than a destination to visit downtown GR and eat. It’s got lots of tough competition – the city has quite a few bars, especially around Van Andel, which is where I’ll be heading the next time in I’m town.

Leave a Reply

