Bagger Dave’s, East Lansing

I’ve been in a burger sort of mood, and a burger mood calls for a burger place which, in this case, was Bagger Dave’s in East Lansing. It also has the honored distinction of being the first “new to me” restaurant of 2012. 1 down, 24 to go.

Bagger Dave’s is a build-your-own burger establishment. They also have signature burgers, sandwiches, and salads, (and more!), so if you’re not in the mood for a burger, then you’ll still be able to find something. Bagger Dave’s also has a train running around the ceiling like Don’s Windmill 2 on Oakland used to have. Oh, memories of going there after seeing Rocky Horror at the Spartan Theaters. It’s just a jump to the left…

I decided to go the build-my-own route, though the “Train Wreck” was very tempting. “Next time”, I promised myself. On this occasion, I ordered the regular sized burger (which has two patties) with cheese, sautéed onions, green olives, a fried egg, and Railroad Burger Sauce. But that is not what I got – my burger was missing the egg and the sauce. No big deal – I’m flexible. After throwing a few chairs around Bob Knight-style, I settled down to enjoy my meal.

The burger was excellent, possibly gaining my “favorite burger around Lansing” distinction. Juicy and perfectly cooked and on a honey wheat bun ( you can choose your bun, too). Makes me hungry just thinking about. Along with the burger I had an order of fries. Wow, those were great, too. I would put them on the same level as 5 Guys, though not the same enormous portion size. Still, enough to satisfy.

Bagger Dave's

Bagger Dave's

After just one visit, I’m a BD fan. My next visit, I will get that Train Wreck. Fries and an egg on a burger? Bring it.

One thought on “Bagger Dave’s, East Lansing

  1. Pingback: Bagger Dave’s Opens November 10th Downtown | After 5 Detroit

Leave a Reply

