Beggars Banquet, East Lansing

We had not visited Beggars Banquet in quite a while, but we were drawn by the Wine Wednesday 50% off wine special. The honor of cheap(er) booze went to Callaway Cellars pinot noir, a very tasty beer reminiscent of a beautiful winter’s morning in Michigan with a cup of hot chocolate and Scooby Doo on TV. Andrea and I sat in a corner booth by the kitchen, the red neon lights casting disturbing shadows on us, giving the impression that we had been in a bar fight.  So you’ll forgive me if the colors look a bit off.

For an entrée, I decided on Mac & Cheese, Bob’s  Way, because who knows better than Bob how to make that? Bob made it with grilled chicken, bacon, and jalapenos. Not only was the spring-shaped pasta the cheesiest, it was covered by a layer of slightly crunchy crumbled cheese of a make and model I am unaware off. Very good, my new favorite meal at Beggars, but after I have the nachos, I’ll let you know how they compare.

Mac and Cheese at Beggars Banquet

Mac and Cheese at Beggars Banquet

Andrea’s favorite dessert there is the Chocolate Mousse, and she said it had improved over the last few times she had ordered it. I decided on the Banana’s Foster Cheesecake. DO NOT EAT THIS… by yourself. It was enormous, and is easily enough for two people. It was very carmely and very tasty. I would have it again, but not alone. It’s frightening how rich it was.

Bananas Foster Cheesecake

Bananas Foster Cheesecake

I mentioned the nachos before, and I’ll be returning in the near future to taste them on $4 draft beer night. I know you’ll be eagerly awaiting that report.

Leave a Reply

