Famous Dave’s, Holt

It was my first visit to Famous Dave’s. I had heard of them – they are famous, after all – and I had first noticed the one in Sandusky, OH adjacent to Cedar Point. But that would require me to leave the park, which was way too much effort. But FD has a Holt, MI location just a few minutes away from where I work in south Lansing, so it was destiny that I go there.

The décor gives the impression of a dumpy bar, with paraphernalia from gas stations and such. I was more interested in the TVs then the hoses and signs hanging from the walls, but if you are into both of those, this is your dream restaurant. But it was a clean dumpy – a Disneyesque dumpy, if you will. I spotted no filth or crumbs that I would associate with a true dive bar. It’s a place you could take your mom to, especially if she liked BBQ and beer.

I ordered the chopped pork sandwich with fries. Both were very good. The pork came topped with a little BBQ sauce, but there were six different sauces to choose from at the table. Hot, sweet, mustardy – take your pick. I like my sauce a little sweeter, but to each their own. The pork was nicely cooked and generously applied between the buns (make your own joke), and I did not leave hungry. It wasn’t pulled pork, remember, it was chopped pork, which meant there were little pieces of pork bursting from the seams. A little harder to eat than pulled pork because the pieces kept escaping from my sandwich, but there was no real crisis – there was no weeping, in case you were wondering.

Famous Dave's pork

Famous Dave’s pork

The fries were quite good. They were wedge fries (none of those fancy French fries here, bub) and were a little crispy outside and soft and potatoey on the inside. Nothing against the pork, but the fries were the best part of the meal. You have lots of sides to choose from if potatoes aren’t your thing, and if they’re not, you probably don’t hang out in bars. I know, I just judged you – tough.

I would certainly eat at Famous Dave’s again. They have a nice selection of BBQ meats and it looked like a good place to hang out and watch a game. Close to work, meat, caffeine – just what I need for my noontime break.

2 thoughts on “Famous Dave’s, Holt

Leave a Reply

