Gilbert & Blake’s, Okemos

Mother’s Day had come, and that means I cook. And when I say “I cook”, that means we go out. We made the not-long trip to Okemos to visit Gilbert & Blake’s. We don’t go there often, not because of the food, it’s just not in our normal sphere of restaurants. We tend to reserve G&B’s for special occasions, like birthdays and solar eclipses.

It was a tough choice. I intended to order fish, since I consider G&Bs a fish restaurant (that’s just me). I was considering three options, but I decided on the Honey Mustard Rainbow Trout. It narrowly beat out the Jalapeno Salmon, but since by wife ordered that, it was a win-win. The perch was also in the running, but rainbow trout makes me think of “The Rainbow Connection”, and who doesn’t like singing frogs? Follow that logic? Me neither.

When they first brought it out, I wondered who put the hang glider on my plate. It nearly covered the entire plate. Though the fish is fileted, and was fairly thin, it was still a lot of fish. And it is covered in a heavy honey mustard sauce. I didn’t taste much of the fish because the sauce was so overwhelming. But luckily, the sauce was good, with a nice balance of honey and mustard, so I didn’t mind. But if you don’t like mustard, you need to stay away from this meal.

Gilbert and Blake's

Gilbert and Blake’s

Gilbert & Blake’s doesn’t have a huge draft beer selection, but they had a few good offerings. I went with the Sam Adams Summer Ale, because it was close enough to summer. There were a few IPAs to choose from, but I bypassed the hoppy beers for something, well, better. And I poured some beer on the floor for my homey, Damon’s, which this particular G&B’s used to be. Those four big murals at the back of the restaurant? Those were TVs. Consider yourselves informed.

You don’t need to wait until holidays are exciting astronomical events to go to Gilbert & Blake’s. Both Gilbert and Blake are fantastic people, and would love to see you any time of year.

Leave a Reply

