Burger at Goog’s, Holland, MI

The receipt said Goog’s burgers had been voted West Michigan’s best burger four years in a row. The Cottage Bar (Grand Rapids) burger got the nod from USA Today as Michigan’s best burger.  So I’m not sure which gets the award for the better burger. Maybe a UFC-style battle between owners is needed to settle it. Just a thought.

I know what you’re thinking – Goog’s, you say? Yes, Goog’s. It’s fun to say – Goog’s. Goog’s is in Holland, MI. It’s very easy to find. You just have to take a back street near US 31, then jump a condemned bridge, and travel on a dirt road somewhere in Canada. Having a Flux Capacitor doesn’t hurt either.

I was in a burger mood, and I had a hard time deciding which to get – there were lots that looked great , including one that involved a food challenge  that would most likely have ended in vomiting. Instead of running desperately to the bathroom after stuffing my face, I decided on the Birtles burger. It was topped with an egg and bacon, and it was a beautiful thing.

And it was big. I didn’t finish it, and I wasn’t the only one to leave a little burger in the basket. (I’m sure there’s a joke in there somewhere.) Be forewarned – it was a juicy / greasy burger. You’ll definitely need your napkin, and a squeegee wouldn’t hurt either.

Verdict: I liked Goog’s, and I will be making a return trip to try their nachos. Very good burgers, wide selection of foods if burgers aren’t your thing. In fact, the group I went with included a vegetarian – he didn’t weep too loudly as the rest of the tables consumed cows by the dozen.